Are you suffering from gluten intolerance? If yes, then you’ve probably heard of or been diagnosed with celiac disease.
Croissants, sandwiches, noodles, bread - for people who suffer from gluten intolerance, the daily diet is always a challenge.
What is gluten?
Gluten is a composite of storage proteins termed prolamins and glutelins. It can be found and seeds of different cereals such as wheat, rye or oats. Gluten can be processed into dough at all. In conjunction with water, it unfolds its adhesive effect, through which the dough can be formed into a loaf. The term gluten is derived from Latin. Translated, it literally means "glue".
What are the symptoms of celiac disease?
Celiac disease, the technical term for gluten intolerance, means a permanent intolerance of the immune system to the gluten contained in many cereals. The intake of gluten can cause the small intestine to become inflamed and nutrients cannot be absorbed. Typical symptoms include abdominal pain, weight loss and weakness, as well as bloating and diarrhea.
Foods which contain gluten
The following cereals contain gluten: wheat, rye, barley, oats and spelt (dinkel wheat or hulled wheat). Therefore, foods containing one of these cereals are not suitable for people with gluten intolerance. These include:
- Bread, rolls
- Pasta and gnocchi
- Fish and meat if it has been breaded
- Cakes and pies
- Pastry made from puff pastry
- Granola bars
- Pretzel Sticks
What if diagnosed with celiac disease?
Unfortunately, the only possible treatment is the permanent and consistent waiver of all foods that contain gluten. In this case, sufferers not only have to go without snacking and sweets while snacking in front of the TV, but they also have make adjustments to their everyday diet. Because gluten hides everywhere: from baked foods such as bread to ready-made products such as lasagna.
But there is no reason to worry: there are now lots of gluten-free alternatives. Check out the following (foods in red are high in gluten):
Pasta - rice noodles, buckwheat noodles, millet noodles, corn noodles
Semolina - polenta
Bulgur - rice
Couscous - quinoa
Wheat bran - gluten-free oat bran
Bread - gluten-free bread
Cornflakes - gluten-free cornflakes
Muesli - gluten-free cereal mix
Ovaltine - cocoa
Beer - gluten-free beer
These foods are naturally gluten-free: corn, rice, wild rice, millet, brown millet, teff, buckwheat, amaranth, quinoa, soy, sesame, linseed, hemp, potatoes, vegetables, fruits, nuts, milk, eggs, meat, fish, poultry, legumes, fats, oils etc.
Alternatives to flour
Chestnut flour, lupine flour, guar gum, arrowroot flour, tapioca flour, banana flour, coconut flour, hemp flour, chickpea flour, soy flour, almond flour, quinoa flour, amaranth flour.
C A T E G O R I E S:
“The day she realised, it was not about the world but was all about her, she grew the wings. The day she understood she was not answerable to any of them who always blamed and pointed her, she had the fire blazing in her eyes. She raised and soared towards the sky. The whole world looked at her in awe and wished if only they could be her. She was not confined to be on the ground anymore. She had the wings of fire and she left a trail everywhere she went, for other to follow.”
― Akshau Vasu